How to Conduct a Proper Employment Search

Over the last few months and as my search for a new position continues, I have often wondered what is the proper way to conduct a search,

What resources do you use? Monster, Careerbuilder, InsideArm, Craigslist, Indeed, and that is just to name a few. Yes I am certain that many of you are on them.

How about industry directories?  I have put together many of the industry directories onto an excel spreadsheet and have been using them and sending my resume blindly to decision makers.  The question is does it help?  This is hopefully the hidden job market. Many times a position is created.

I get many of the same responses. Your background is excellent and we would love to bring you on. In fact we will bring you on. The catch is that you are not an employee, but an independent contractor and will earn a commission on anything that pays.(Pertains to the collection industry) If you want to go to conferences or trade shows that is great and shows real initiative on your part, but you will have to pay for it.

Many people today are not in a position to take that on. They are expected to give their blood to a company, but the company does not give them anything. The employer does not take any of the risk.  The employer also wants total loyalty.

I have been asked to relocate at my own expense and still give my blood to an employer for a ZERO income. There are no guarantees in life or in our work. When does the employer take on some of the risk and show the employee that they are wanted?

I have posted my resume her many times and have sent it to many people and possibly more than once. If that has happened then I humbly apologize.  My resume is located at http://sbtresume.weebly.com.   I have even made is possible for you to download a hard copy.  I am even willing to relocate for the right opportunity. If you want to talk please call me at 954-290-6976. Email : staylor@skiptraceconsultants.com.  I look forward to hearing back from you.

Leave a Reply

